Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    (1) So I have this second pump a Pentair 2VST, that is attached to my EasyTouch 8. But I cannot control it. It looks like they wired directly to the breaker instead of an AUX or other controller.

    This pump is solely for my waterfalls and bubblers. I have a electronic valve between the two directions of pipe (one to bubblers, one to waterfalls).

    (2) I can get the valve to turn 180 degrees either only bubblers or only waterfalls, but not in between without manually stopping it by turning it off. I have designated the valve to Aux 5, and defined Aux 5 as a spillway, so I thought that would cause it to stop at 90 degrees where both could run at same time. But it doesn't work.

    My questions are, (1) since I do not have a spa, can I wire the pump to the Spa controller, so it acts like a spa pump where I can control speed, etc. and (2) if I then designate the valve to the spa, can I control it so that it opens one, the other or both (three positions) as spillway?

    Hope that makes sense.

    thank you in advance!
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Daddy,

    Your 2nd pump should not be wired to any relay. It should get 220 volt power direct from your CB panel in the EasyTouch. The EasyTouch can control two VS Intelliflo pumps. You just have to change the address of the 2nd pump. This will allow you to control both pumps via their serial cables. I believe that the default address is 1, and that it has to be changed at the pump, with the serial cable not attached. You really want to be able to control the speed of the 2nd pump so you can dial in the right amount water going to your water features.

    As far as I know, Valves will not stop at 90 degrees and 180 degrees. You can only have one or the other.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    Daddy,

    Your 2nd pump should not be wired to any relay. It should get 220 volt power direct from your CB panel in the EasyTouch. The EasyTouch can control two VS Intelliflo pumps. You just have to change the address of the 2nd pump. This will allow you to control both pumps via their serial cables. I believe that the default address is 1, and that it has to be changed at the pump, with the serial cable not attached. You really want to be able to control the speed of the 2nd pump so you can dial in the right amount water going to your water features.

    As far as I know, Valves will not stop at 90 degrees and 180 degrees. You can only have one or the other.

    Jim R.
    Thanks! I happen to change the pump to address 2 this morning with the cable disconnected.. I haven't reattached the serial cable, because I was running it off the system. I only changed it because I was messing with the setting at the pump to get it to work without the easytouch..lol.. totally random. Anyways I will plug that in when I get back and try it out.

    BTW.. that is odd that they don't allow you to have stops at 0 90 and 180... it would seem logical, given you are controlling features.. even for the other valve which is between my in-floor cleaning and returns, it would seem there are times you would want one, the other or both.

    I can't even get it to stop at 90 ... that would be half okay..lol.. what is the setting for 90? is that a different valve control unit?

    Hmm you would think its an easy fix in the software.
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Sugar Land , TX
    Posts
    388

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    I think the only way to get the 90 degree turn is to install a manual valve. I know that will not give you the desired effect of total automation but at least you can control flow. I guess you could go downstream and find were the pipe splits ( to water fall and bubblers) and install automation valves on each.
    8500 gallon IG Pebble Sheen with Spa. 3hp Pentair VS Intelliflo ( pool ), 3/4 hp WhisperFlo ( water feature ),Pentair Racer, 400K Pentair heater, Pentair 500sqft Cartridge filter, EasyTouch 8, Stenner 45mp2 15gallon wired to ET8

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Quote Originally Posted by rphpool View Post
    I think the only way to get the 90 degree turn is to install a manual valve. I know that will not give you the desired effect of total automation but at least you can control flow. I guess you could go downstream and find were the pipe splits ( to water fall and bubblers) and install automation valves on each.

    Yea, that defeats the purpose of automation. I would have to repipe and add a valve... sounds like an email and call to Pentair.
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    The valve is not "smart", it has no idea where it is.. it just drives from one end to the other. Each end has a micro switch to stop it. You can adjust the micro switch to wherever you want it to stop, but it will always drive from one end to the other.

    Once you set the pump to the new address, you have to tell the EasyTouch that there are two pumps and that one is address 1, and the other address 2. It will then treat them as two different pumps and you can control them separately.

    Do you have ScreenLogic2? If so, it is pretty clear how to set it up. Let me know if you run into an issue.

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    The valve is not "smart", it has no idea where it is.. it just drives from one end to the other. Each end has a micro switch to stop it. You can adjust the micro switch to wherever you want it to stop, but it will always drive from one end to the other.

    Once you set the pump to the new address, you have to tell the EasyTouch that there are two pumps and that one is address 1, and the other address 2. It will then treat them as two different pumps and you can control them separately.

    Do you have ScreenLogic2? If so, it is pretty clear how to set it up. Let me know if you run into an issue.

    Jim R.

    Will do. Yes, Screen Logic 2. Ha.. I'm a poet...

    I saw on there the two pumps, it just didn't see it, now I know why...

    How do I get to the micro switches? I was thinking that it would be able to send a signal to the unit to cut power at 90, reengage power to continue to end and micro switch to reverse.
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    So I can control; pump now.. I designated a feature for different pump speeds... not sure if that is supposed to be that way, but it works..

    I have my Aux A set up for one of the valves and Aux 5 for the other..

    I synched all my lights.. so they are diff colors depending on the program... or all one color if I choose a specific color... pretty cool in that respect.
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad Jimrahbe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Bedford, TX
    Posts
    5,311

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Daddy,

    I also use Feature circuits to control my pump speeds. I thank that is exactly what they are for..

    One of the things that I love about ScreenLogic2, is that it is so easy to change them.. and turn them on or off.

    The micro switches are inside the valve actuators. In my case, I have never opened one, but I suspect there are instructions out there somewhere...

    Jim R.
    Finished in 2015 - 17K Gal, IG, 20' x 25' Almost Rectangular Pool, Pebble finish, three rockport water falls. Pentair Equipment: EasyTouch 4, IC40 SWG, 3 HP VS Pump, CCP520 Cartridge Filter.
    TF100 with SpeedStir and SampleSizer, ColorQ Pro 7, Dolphin Premier Robot Cleaner, added Screen Logic 2, added small 3 person Calder Spa.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Quote Originally Posted by Jimrahbe View Post
    Daddy,

    I also use Feature circuits to control my pump speeds. I thank that is exactly what they are for..

    One of the things that I love about ScreenLogic2, is that it is so easy to change them.. and turn them on or off.

    Jim R.
    I now just manually turn off the valve switch at the equipment when it reaches halfway for both waterfall and bubblers

    And will have to do the same depending on if I want cleaners or returns or both... what a pain, for a supposedly automated system.


    I am not sure how they missed such a simple logical scenario.
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  11. Back To Top    #11

    TFP Guide

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    tucson, arizona
    Posts
    938

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch


  12. Back To Top    #12

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    The actuator's cams are easy to adjust. Remove the handle and unscrew the 4 small screws that secure the actuator lid to the body. There is no need to remove the larger screws that secure the actuator to the valve.

    Once the lid is off, there is a large splined looking locknut that clamps down on the cams and holds them in place. Loosen that splined nut and then reposition the cams to the correct orientation for your 90 degree rotation. It will take a little trial and error but you should ultimately achieve the rotation you are after.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by daddymack View Post
    Thanks! I happen to change the pump to address 2 this morning with the cable disconnected.. I haven't reattached the serial cable, because I was running it off the system. I only changed it because I was messing with the setting at the pump to get it to work without the easytouch..lol.. totally random. Anyways I will plug that in when I get back and try it out.

    BTW.. that is odd that they don't allow you to have stops at 0 90 and 180... it would seem logical, given you are controlling features.. even for the other valve which is between my in-floor cleaning and returns, it would seem there are times you would want one, the other or both.

    I can't even get it to stop at 90 ... that would be half okay..lol.. what is the setting for 90? is that a different valve control unit?

    Hmm you would think its an easy fix in the software.
    You could achieve this with a little work but it will likely cost you another valve and actuator. If you choose to go this route, I'd be happy to help you along.

    Post a picture of the equipment pad so we can see if there may be a workaround.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  13. Back To Top    #13

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    I just saw your pad in your build thread. It would not be difficult at all to add an additional valve to isolate the bubblers from the sheers.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Here is another shot of the valves.. I still need one on the solar, eventually.. If I use it. So really if I break out the pipes and add another valve, I can only add one, so I would have to choose between the features or the cleaning and returns...

    The 90 degree fix may solve my problem ... because I can see a time where I only want waterfalls on (i.e. sitting on the wet deck), but I don't really see a time where I only want the bubblers on, so on the rare occasion I may just have to go do that manually.



    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  15. Back To Top    #15

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    There are ways to run 5 or more actuators through the EasyTouch... It just requires a little bit of ingenuity
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  16. Back To Top    #16

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    325

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Quote Originally Posted by kadavis View Post
    Well that fixes everything... lol..

    except its overkill.. and 320 bucks it looks like.. versus 128 bucks. And I would need two :/
    Cement Pond <--- build - 15K gal, 16 x 34 Rectangle, All Pentair - 520 Filter, 2 Intelliflo 2VST pumps (3hp) - 1 filter/1 water features, EasyTouch 8, Screen Logic, IC60 SWG,
    Pop-up Cleaners (Wet Deck and steps), 2 LED Bubblers, 3 LED 24" waterfalls, 5G LED Pool Light, Quartscapes Reflections Tahoe Blue plaster, Real Coral coping/deck, TF-100 Test Kit, 1766 Salt test kit.

  17. Back To Top    #17
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    303

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Have not seen that fancier actuator - nice, but very steep price, especially since I hear these things don't last for years. I'm told I'll have to be replacing them in a couple of years. I've got a fairly new install - pool completed about 16 months ago. I've got 4 actuators and 2 of them stop at the 90 degree mark - I saw the PB open them and make the change to stop it at 90 vs 180, but I couldn't do it myself without some instructions.

    Question for bdavis466 - are you sharing your "ingenuity" on how to make the Easytouch control 5 actuators? I've got 4 already controlled - main Pool and Spa required for basic operation, then I've got one on a bubbler and one on some top sprays. I like to be able to control those separate. I'd like to add one more - The pool has 5 returns + 1 to the spa for normal circulation - the spa has a waterfall into the pool. I know a lot of people love to hear that and let it drown out every day world sounds, but personally sometimes that drives me crazy (and it can be a short drive). I'd like to add a fifth actuator on the standard return to the spa so that I can turn that off automatically for a while.

    I'm hoping that the ingenuity will let me control the fifth actuator separately, if not - if it amounts to wiring 2 actuators together for single control, that won't help as I want to retain individual control on each of them.

    Thanks for any insight.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

  18. Back To Top    #18

    In the Industry

    bdavis466's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Posts
    3,284

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Sure, its easy.

    This will require an empty relay socket so if you are maxed out, you'll need to consolidate circuits somehow.

    You'll need an actuator, a SPDT relay, relay base, some short sections of wire and the red connector with black wires that extends off the relays.

    Here is the relay and base:

    IDEC Corporation - RH1B-ULDC24V - Blade Vol-Rtg 240/30AC/DC Ctrl-V 24DC Cur-Rtg 10A SPDT Gen Purp E-Mech Relay - Allied Electronics


    IDEC Corporation - SH1B-05 - 10A 250V Snap-Mount/Surface Mount Relay; 5-Blade Socket - Allied Electronics


    Check out this thread with a really good write up of the installation. Let me know if you have any questions. I did mine slightly different but the end result is basically the same.
    -Brian-
    33K Pool/Spa, Pentair Equipment
    POOL BUILD
    Davis Custom Construction - Home Page

  19. Back To Top    #19
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    303

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Thank you - went out today and took my Easytouch box apart so I could understand how the current actuators and pumps were wired. I learned a lot, but don't understand every piece yet. I will look at these products and look in the thread for your installation. I know I read through it a couple of days back, but didn't understand it just by reading. I've got to have pictures and research. So with these parts, knowing what the inside of my ET looks like and how it is wired will help me see how this fits in.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

  20. Back To Top    #20
    GDN's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    303

    Re: Help on attaching second pump to Easy Touch

    Brian - do you mind if I ask - you reference "Check out this thread with a really good write up of the installation" -is the the thread you are thinking of: http://www.troublefreepool.com/threa...Touch-8-System


    It's odd but I found it by Googling Easy Touch Wiring looking for pictures - I got to this website http://astrapt.com/wiring/pool-valve...ng-diagram.php that had a picture of the parts you told me to buy and below the picture there is a link back to that TFP thread about the wiring.

    Thanks again for the parts and information. Hope this didn't hijack the thread - kind of goes along the lines.
    Greg -
    11K gal, IG Pebble Sheen (Aqua Blue) with sun ledge and attached spa, Pentair Intelliflow 3050 VS/SVRS (3HP), Pentair ET 8 with Screen Logic, Pentair Racer with 3/4 HP booster pump, 400KBTU Pentair Mastertemp, Pentair 60 sq ft DE filter, J&J Intellibrite LED in spa, Zodiac Nature 2 (not used), Stenner pump/liquid Chlorine, build completed in August 2015

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •