Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with Travertine coping.

1. Back To Top    #1

Help with Travertine coping.

We are having a pool built and are concerned with the grout they used on the coping. We have no experience with travertine but it sure seems like they should have used a grout that was a similar color. It looks dirty and has dark grout in all the pores. Any advice would be appreciated. I'm debating having them tear it out and need help. Thanks

14K IG, Pebble sheen, 2hp, Pentair quad DE 100, 1/2hp booster with pentair racer. Test kit K-2006C. New pool filled 7/15/16

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Help with Travertine coping.

I'm no expert, but my guess is that the builder uses (or suggests) a darker color to avoid looking dirty when certain areas of the grout inevitably become dirty. Since the dirt may not be consistent across the patio grout, choosing a uniformly dark color could mitigate this issue. Just my 2 cents.
    14x28 IG Rounded Rectangle, 6" aqua tile, White plaster, Gray Acrylic deck, Pentair Intelliflo VS Pump, Pentair TR100 C Commercial Sand Filter, Stenner Econ T (NaCIO), Zodiac Baracuda Cleaner (coming soon), 4' Baja Step (18"), aerator jets, 3-step InterFab SS Ladder

3. Back To Top    #3

Thanks for the reply. Using a darker color to avoid it looking dirty makes sense. I just haven't seen any pictures of travertine with dark grout. I was kind of shocked when i came home and seen the pores full of dark grout. Is using a dark color common?

14K IG, Pebble sheen, 2hp, Pentair quad DE 100, 1/2hp booster with pentair racer. Test kit K-2006C. New pool filled 7/15/16

4. Back To Top    #4

I'm not sure what is the norm, but if you hate the look, you may be wise to change the color.

Is the grout still wet? Perhaps it will lighten after drying fully.