Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Scared

1. Back To Top    #1

Scared

Hi. I am new to listing on this forum so I am not sure i am even doing this right.
    I have a 24 round above the ground 4 foot pool purchased in 2008. I have a Hayward filter. I recently purchased a hot tube which is located next to my pool. My pool is maintained with soft swim and my hot tub uses chlorine. I want to convert my pool to chlorine for fear that my kids will go from one to the other causing cross contamination, not to mention the cost. I have been reading and studying the posts and articles that are posted. I am super SCARED to start this process and nervous about how to deal with the mess. I have printed the article "Convert Your Baquacil Pool to Chlorine" and read it numerous times and have a few questions. Please forgive me if I ask stupid questions. I'm not sure that understand.

1. Concerning the Pool math calculator. I must be doing something wrong because I cannot get it to work for me. I enter the amount of gallons and nothing happens. Am I supposed to enter more information? Is this calculator to guide me in what chemicals to use to convert or is it to help maintain my pool after I convert?

2. Concerning the CYA, where do I purchase this?

3. I use a sand filter. After filtering the goo, do I backwash or rinse? Does everyone usually have to change the sand in their filter during the conversion?

4. My pool store wants me to wait a week to see if my "B" comes down any. Currently it is at 30. She wants me to add "C" and "A" to maintain the pool while waiting for the B to go down. I haven't added anything for fear that the "C" and "A" will interfere more with the conversion. Any comments?

Thanks for helping

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Scared

Hello and welcome to TFP! We'll help you.