Gold Supporter
Nov 19, 2022
Oklahoma City
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Hi everyone, this is my first post to the forum. I am new to pool ownership as of this past summer (2022). You can see the details about our setup in my signature.

Things have been going pretty well so far and I've been learning a lot by reading this forum so thanks to all of you for your insights. But for whatever reason, I just now noticed something curious about one of the valves in our flow and I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on it. Please see the image below which shows the return side of the equipment with water flowing out of the heater and into this valve before splitting into two pipes -- one runs through the chlorinator and the other through the "Smartguard Soft and Clear".

This valve looks to me, though, like it is restricting the flow of water generally and I am just curious as to why it would be set this way. I haven't adjusted this valve since installation and I can't remember what the installer said, if anything, about its purpose.

Thank you for any insights you can provide.

valve.jpg

Welcome to TFP.

That valve lets you choose chlorinating the pool with the SWG or the tablet feeder.

In the pic the valve is set to flow water to both which makes little sense.

I would turn the valve so the handle points away from the Smartguard so all water goes through the SWG.

Do you have any tablets in the Smartguard?

I wonder what the SmartGuard does? I found this mumbo-jumbo:
The device uses hydraulic harmonics to super energize pool water. The result is a slew of improvements for water quality, pool maintenance and appearance, and your overall swimming experience.

Welcome to TFP.

That valve lets you choose chlorinating the pool with the SWG or the tablet feeder.

In the pic the valve is set to flow water to both which makes little sense.

I would turn the valve so the handle points away from the Smartguard so all water goes through the SWG.