Waterline Tile - Did I Make a Bad Choice?

racdash

Mar 12, 2021
Maryland
I am new to TFP. And hoping someone can help. We inherited a pool this summer and it has proven to be a bit of a debacle. We are having to fix the plumbing and re-plaster as it had a leak. The pool shape was NOT shape I would have picked (roman shaped). We are replacing the hardscaping/coping (we had to do this) and chose all the same to try to minimize the shape. We chose Diamond Brite French Gray plaster. I have never chosen pool tile and wanted to choose a tile that would help up minimize the shape so I chose a dark blue grey to hopefully blend with the water. BUT, now i am thinking it will stick out way too much and I should have matched the hardscape with a lighter grey or white? So, here is the question - am I way overthinking it? When choosing tile you want to blend should you match the coping or the water color? Thank you for you help!

Attachments

• blue gray tile.jpg
    blue gray tile.jpg
    383 KB · Views: 103
  • blue gray tile2 .jpg
    blue gray tile2 .jpg
    398.7 KB · Views: 103

Desert Dog

Silver Supporter
Apr 4, 2020
Alpine, Ca
Maybe I can help you get more eyes on your thread/question. Colors are such a personal choice, its a hard question to answer. With a Roman shaped pool, I'm sure you want something not to crazy and eye popping. Perhaps posting a pic of your coping and anything else that's around the pool will help. Personally, I like the plaster/tile color combo you have picked.

sl7vk

Jan 6, 2021
Salt Lake City, Ut
You are way overthinking this. That combo looks lovely. It's a bit more modern, and I'm guessing that is what you are trying to achieve, or were trying to change with the Roman shape. Go with it!

jimmythegreek

TFP Expert
Bronze Supporter
In The Industry
Aug 10, 2017
Morris Cnty NJ