Unknown pool surface issue

TXaquaholics

Bronze Supporter
Feb 12, 2019
Austin, TX
I have a pool surface issue occurring that is slowly getting worse. New replaster a year ago (see signature). The pictures show the details but it's light brown/green areas at various locations. At the places of discoloration, the finish is a bit rougher than normal (the finish is acid polished). The locations where this is occuring tend to get little direct sun. All on the sidewall, nothing on the floor. I'm a retired engineer and a fanatic about my chemistry, almost always within +/- 0.3 CSI (a few outside that range during travel) and routinely well less than that (see online logs). Chlorine and acid are added daily manually. The finish is brushed usually once a week. The robot also does the walls every week or so. For these trouble areas I have tried hard brushing with stiff nylon bristles and also a SS brush. Nothing happens. A pumice stone barely phases it. Intense scrubbing with a trichlor tablet takes a little bit away. I really don't ever shock the pool as we have no algae issues. This has me stumped. Appreciate any thoughts or suggestions.

Attachments

JamesW

TFP Expert
Mar 2, 2011
Looks like typical iron with possibly some copper in the last picture.

Try vitamin C on a spot.

When is the last time you cleaned the filter?

Check for iron and copper stains on the grids the next time you take it apart and clean it.

TXaquaholics

Bronze Supporter
Feb 12, 2019
Austin, TX
I don't see a SWG in your signature and it says Chlorine. For a chlorine pool with CYA 60 your FC target is 7-9 with a minimum of 5. Your PoolMath log shows the FC below the minimum consistently.

I suggest you do an Overnight Chlorine Loss Test as everything points to algae.
Hi Allen,