Trying to get chlorine pool blue

rawman

Oct 17, 2021
Mobile, AL
Hi,

I am new to pool ownership. My pool is green. It is approximately 40,000 gallons.
While awaiting the arrival of my Taylor K-2006C kit, I went to a pool store.
The chemistry:
FC: 0.02
CC: 0
pH: 8.7
TA: 35
CH: 278
CYA: 6

I have muriatic acid and chlorinating liquid and can purchase any other needed chemicals. Thank you for any assistance.

Hi there Rawman.... is your pool plaster, vinyl lined, or fiberglass?

What chemicals have you added to the water up to this point? How have you been sanitizing up till now?

We can't act on those test results because they're inaccurate (for reasons too wordy to get into now) so I would just suggest that untill your new test kit arrives you should add a gallon of Liquid Chlorine into the water and brush the pool real good. Do this daily then once your kit comes you will run all the tests and report them so-
FC
CC
pH
TA
CH
CYA
Salt if applicable

Can you do this?

Maddie 🐞

@rawman It would be helpful as well to go to your Signature (look under Settings) and update that with key information about the type and size of pool, your equipment list and any water features you may have. This avoids you having to repeat that info each time you post a question. Liquid Chlorine (LC) is all you need to resolve an algae issue. You can buy 10% LC at Home Depot.

1. How do people measure liquid (primarily muriatic acid) from a gallon bottle? There are no marks on the bottles to gauge the amount.
2. I read that you should not backwash after adding CYA, but the pressure increased and there is visible particles in the water. It seems that there is no other option. How do people clean algae out and SLAM without backwashing?
3. Is there a particular order that may be more efficient to correct the values (pH, TA, CYA, FC)? I would imagine if the CYA is correct prior to the FC, then the pool might lose less chlorine.