Total newb, no idea what to make of this equipment.

nathanrhale

Oct 9, 2020
Phoenix, AZ
Hello all, I’m a new pool owner (came with the house we just bought) and I have no idea what I’m doing, especially when it comes to this equipment. Any words of explaination or even general pointers on where to start would be so helpful. I’m even mystified by the timer 🤦🏻‍♂️

Attachments

• A25F7335-6F69-4DBA-B4E5-B0634830C651.jpeg
    A25F7335-6F69-4DBA-B4E5-B0634830C651.jpeg
    735.7 KB · Views: 33
  • 5026CB66-3C1E-4DA0-AB7E-121088EDCD39.jpeg
    5026CB66-3C1E-4DA0-AB7E-121088EDCD39.jpeg
    569 KB · Views: 31
  • 542F97FA-0059-49C9-8BD8-4968A5D1310B.jpeg
    542F97FA-0059-49C9-8BD8-4968A5D1310B.jpeg
    409.3 KB · Views: 29
  • A92176D0-E6DB-490C-87BE-3C193C21C167.jpeg
    A92176D0-E6DB-490C-87BE-3C193C21C167.jpeg
    334.8 KB · Views: 30
Last edited:
Nathan,

You have a Hayward DE filter, most likely a 48 Sq.Ft. unit.. It has a push/pull backwash valve. When backwashing (cleaning) the filter, the blue hose will fill with water..

You have a single speed pump..

To the right is a junction box with a covered switch below it.. I suspect it turns your pool light on.

Since you only have one pipe coming into your pump, I would assume you have a single skimmer and that you main drain is plumbed into the bottom of the skimmer.

The timer should turn your pump and and off.. If you look at the timer, you can see that it has an 'ON" tab and an "OFF tab.

When the pump is running, I would expect for the gauge on top of the filter to read 10 to 20 lbs pressure.

Thanks,

Jim R.

Nathan,

Some additional thoughts...