Time for a new heater?

Jul 8, 2021
Illinois
Hi major noob here grateful in advance for any help.

Just purchased a home and seems like the previous owners never used anything. Had a local pool company come out to open up the pool but we found the heater to be rusted out and filled with a lot of leaves in the draft hood. Their advice was get a new one, and quoted $5,223 to furnish and install a new Raypak 266,000 BTU ASME heater with Cupro Nickel exchange with digital read out and dispose of old heater. I tried to research retail for such a heater and it seemed to be $2500-3,000 but the pool people told me that was not correct because their heaters have bronze headers and HD (high density copper heat exchangers).

Any advice on whether abandoning the old heater is correct and whether that sounds like a reasonable quote for the replacement would be greatly appreciated!

Here is an album of pictures of the rusted out heater -

Welcome to TFP.

Yeah, it does not make sense to put money into your old heater. Start fresh with a new one in your house.

That pricing is typical pool company pricing which is about 2X the drop shipped street price. But for that you get installation, removal of your old heater, a longer warranty, and problem support. Some folks can DIY it and save money.

How many gallons are in your pool?

I would get a 400K BTU heater rather then the 266K heater if your NG gas service can deliver more gas. The cost difference is not that much and it will heat your pool twice as quickly.

Last edited:
Welcome to TFP.

Yeah, it does not make sense to put money into your old heater. Start fresh with a new one in your house.

That pricing is typical pool company pricing which is about 2X the drop shipped street price. But for that you get installation, removal or your old heater, a longer warranty, and problem support. Some folks can DIY it and save money.

How many gallons are in your pool?