SW Missouri "Hilltop Hideaway" backyard paradise

Leevon

Sep 17, 2020
SW Missouri
Well am I glad I found this forum! I stumbled across it in the middle of my build while searching for pool maintenance information. As of the start of this thread, we have a pool in the ground that is to be started up today. In some ways I'm glad I didn't find ya'll before I started because sometimes not knowing what you don't know makes things easier (ignorance is bliss right?). I have a feeling if I had been here six months ago my pool budget would have been a runaway train. My background is construction management so I like technical things, methods, and problem solving. The planning and project itself is the fun part for me, the finished result is more for the rest of my family.

We finished building our house this spring. We left a neighborhood where the quiet community pool was literally next door so part of the deal was we had to take the pool with us. My wife and three kids basically live poolside during the season. She grew up a pool rat and a lifeguard and is still in love with lounging in the sun. We incorporated the pool concept into the design of the house in a few small ways. First a walk-out basement retaining wall was extended and wrapped-around to create a large more private and shaded area and utilities were routed around the open space. We used a sliding pass-through window at a basement wet bar so the kids can be served snacks and popsicles poolside. The basement bathroom was extended for a private changing area, quick access to a shower and all on tile through an extra sliding door. Flood lights were placed on the upper deck into the yard and the lower patio was over-sized.