Super newbie here, starting by understanding pump and valves

fcw

Apr 15, 2019
San Antonio
Hey all,
3rd day at new home with my first pool, and we want to give it a test run today. Previous owner left it in great swimming condition, so my first question is understanding how to setup my diverter valves and when to change their direction.
See attached pics. I have 2 main valves with 3 branches each.
One towards filter and pump with splits to SPA DRAIN and SKIMMER. owner left it with the OFF portion on SPA DRAIN side.
One coming from heater (I think) with 2 unmarked ports and one marked SPA JETS. owner left it with OFF portion half on SPA JETS and half on the side with no port.
Should I leave it like this during regular hours? Should I change it for swimming in the pool? Is the spa any different?
Thanks to whoever gets this far! I don't want to break anything lol

Attachments

• IMG_20190415_184426.jpg
    IMG_20190415_184426.jpg
    656.5 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_20190415_184423.jpg
    IMG_20190415_184423.jpg
    565.4 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_20190415_184417.jpg
    IMG_20190415_184417.jpg
    625.2 KB · Views: 24
  • IMG_20190415_184411.jpg
    IMG_20190415_184411.jpg
    516.6 KB · Views: 23
FC,