Super high CH! Need to fix it and remove scaling

Mondschatten

Jul 8, 2020
Sacramento area
Hi, I think this is my first time posting here, although I have read a lot of posts over the years. Learned a lot, but still a lot I don't know.

I have a gunite pool (around 16K gallons) that is about two years old now. I do my own testing with one of the Taylor kits and have generally been good about watching the PH and FC levels. A bit spotty on the CYA and TA levels and rarely tested for CH. Well, now my CH has hit 960 and seems like it may still be climbing. I decided to drain some water out and refill to deal with it only to discover I have a calcium buildup ring on the tile all around the pool at the water level. I hadn't noticed it before because we have an automatic water filling device to compensate for water loss so now the water level doesn't really change at all. I am hoping to get ideas about how to best bring down my CH and also remove this buildup.

The current water readings are:
FC=1.2. (I usually shoot for 5-9 using Cal Hypo powder in 24 oz increments depending on how much use the pool got, temp, and if any algae is present. Didn't add Cal Hypo this time because am draining some water .)
PH=7.6. (My water has a naturally high PH - over 8 - and I am constantly battling the rise. I use muriatic acid (31%) in 26 oz amounts to bring it down.)
CYA=around 33. (This used to always be closer to 50 and 60, but has recently come down to the 30-40 range. I did have a period of time very recently where it was actually at 0 and I realized I had forgotten to check on the trichlor tablets I often use in the dispenser. Adding two seems to have solved that problem.)
TA=Around 85. Initially, this was in the 120s or so, but has been falling somewhat steadily over time. I recently got a reading of 40, but that could have been a mistake on my part, I suppose.