Spa won’t heat

GMTK

Bronze Supporter
Jul 18, 2019
San Antonio
Spa help

Spa is connected to pool. Approx 14 years old.
New heyward pool heater installed this summer prior to moving in the house. I’ve never used the spa before.

Controller for the spa and pool is on the wall in the house.

Trying to turn on the spa to heat. I pressed the spa button and also the spa heater button on the controller. The Spa heat is set to 102 in the programming.

The jets on the spa are shooting out water but I can’t seem to get any heat. When looking at the equipment the spa drain input is open, pool drain input is closed. Pool return output is closed. Spa return output is open.

The main pump is on but I don’t see any bubbles like i normally see when just the pool pump is on (and pool input is open). Pressure on the pool filters is high (28). There is water being moved through.

The heater says “bo” which I’ve found means the controller inside is in charge.

It’s been an hour and pool temp hasn’t changed.

I’m concerned the heater isn’t on or lit (it’s natural gas). Any help is appreciated.

Attachments

• 307D7ED4-C08A-438A-90A7-4E0258F8A719.jpeg
    307D7ED4-C08A-438A-90A7-4E0258F8A719.jpeg
    111.8 KB · Views: 11
  • DBCBC9CC-52C1-48A7-A145-579CA5833543.jpeg
    DBCBC9CC-52C1-48A7-A145-579CA5833543.jpeg
    97.2 KB · Views: 13
  • 64F5A87B-E4B7-4465-90DD-85046376BFB0.jpeg
    64F5A87B-E4B7-4465-90DD-85046376BFB0.jpeg
    112.5 KB · Views: 13
  • 270094DE-5522-40D6-88B1-E98239CE65F5.jpeg
    270094DE-5522-40D6-88B1-E98239CE65F5.jpeg
    67.6 KB · Views: 13
G,

I am not a Hayward guy, but when I look up the BO code it says "By pass operation"... Could be I was looking at a different heater, so tell us what specific heater you have.

A running heater will have a hot exhaust and will make enough noise that you should be able to tell if the heater is running or not.

Let's see if we can get one of our heater experts to chime in..

Thanks,

Jim R.

G,