Jul 23, 2021
Mchenry, illinois
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi,
So I’m new to the pool world and I absolutely love this forum because I am getting great advice from very wise people.
My question is about my solar cover. I read that if i keep it on 24 hours the Algae is going to tend to grow so I want to take it off during the day and put it on at night to keep the water warm.
I have a hard time getting the cover off by myself and being able to fold it up and put it away so I was reading about cutting it in pieces but there seems like there’s difficulties with that too. I don’t want to get a reel but I’m wondering if there’s anything bad about leaving the pool uncovered 24/7 during the summer?
Thanks 😊

Opposite situation here in Texas but that's beside the point. I use the solar cover starting around mid Sept, night temps in mid 60s. So I have 2 PCV pipes 12' & I use them like chopsticks & fold in half then fold again. Makes removing manageable & quick. Hope this helps. Almost forgot . I have a 18X54 Intex.

Reactions: Jennybird
Mine stayed on for a week + at a time if we were busy doing other things in life. Around the 1 week mark it would ‘outgas’ the CCs that had built up over the week and have a unpleasant smell about it, immediately upon opening. It would dissipate in a minute or less and be right back to normal.

Also, whatever rain/ sprinkler water and pollen was on the cover would inevitably fall in the pool and cause momentary cloudiness. It also cleared itself in about a minute. This was my least favorite thing as my heart sank everytime the pool got fouled up. Even though I knew it would be ok in a minute. THAT was my PERFECT water you stupid cover !!!!! How dare you ?!!! Lol.

If you are close to minimum FC, it may be enough to push you over the edge upon opening. If you are in target range you should be fine. If you run a bit ‘hot’ you have even less to worry about. :)

Reactions: ghall6292 and KJB1