Should I Need to add any chlorine to cold water?

440dodge440

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 7, 2015
South Central PA
This is my second year with a pool. I'm still learning and trying to insure everything seems right. I set up a Stenner this season, and I'm adding about 7 oz of 8.25% bleach per day. This is about a .25FC loss per day. The solar cover is on full time, and the water temp is in the mid to upper 50's (it's been pretty cold for this time of year). With these temperatures, should I need to add any bleach at all? I ask because I hear people talking about FC lasting through the winter. At this rate of loss, I would be out of FC in about 1.5 months after the closing SLAM (I had 0 FC on opening with a mesh cover). If this seems right, it's fine, but if it seems off I'd start an algae search.

Your solar cover is blocking some, but not all of the UV from the sun. So I would expect a very small FC loss similar to what you are noticing. Remember, the sun is just as powerful now as it is in mid-July (that is to say, same position overhead).

If you are worried you can try an OCLT, but I really think you can chalk the loss up to solar breakdown.

Thanks...just wanted to see is it made sense. I wouldn't really be able to pick up that loss with the FAD/DPD, as that's in .5 FC increments...I guess if I really wanted to I could do a 20ml sample, but I'm not that concerned if it seems in line with what's expected....

Maybe you could do a CC test and if it's where it should be, under 0.5 you know everything is good and that 7oz is an accurate daily amount.

I am not sure what the goal is. Your Stenner seems to be working fine.....why are you considering adding chlorine? I think I am misunderstanding part of your post.