she's curvy, sparkling , beautiful and in Italy

in-two

Silver Supporter
Nov 13, 2011
Sabina, Italy
That's just my pool...
Two years ago I was a complete newbie ,first time pool owner, staring at the scary 'green swamp' that was a part of our newly acquired holiday home in Italy. I was calm about the house, the roof leaked, the air con and heating didn't work, the plumbing looked as if The Emperor Caligula had installed it after a heavy saturday night. This stuff I could fix, but a pool? I knew nothing, nada. I'm British/Polish so pools don't run in the family, I don't yet speak good Italian and this is a rural farming area so sheep dips yes, pools not really. I turned to the internet, who has pools? Americans! (A bit of a simplification about a nation of 300 million souls, who might want to be recognised for other , greater achievments...). I found TFP, Pool School, BBB, people who knew, (and knew the difference between knowledge and opinion), and didn't mind sharing, fantastic. Thankyou!
I've closed the pool today after a season of sparkling water, joyous games, langorous sunbathing and delighted kids so decided to stop lurking and join up. I'll be taking more than giving at first due to my inexperience, but hopefully can contribute about 'European matters' as we go on, I'm also contemplating a major re-furb., so will wander on over to 'construction, and start asking. Thanks again, indeed 'Mille Grazie'

Welcome! :wave:

It would be great if you could share with us where you could find decent test kits (similar to the Taylor K-2006 or TFTestkits TF-100, perhaps the Palintest SP 315C), alternative chemicals for adjusting TA, pH, CH (similar to Arm & Hammer Baking Soda, Arm & Hammer Washing Soda, 20 Mule Team Borax, DowFlake or Tetra, etc.), and chlorinating liquid or bleach.

Thank you for the warm welcome, I have to say that you (Chemgeek) are my hero for clear, detailed and actionable advice. I don't think I can equal that yet, but here goes:
Test Kits