Pump/ strainer basket housing does not fill with water, endlessly draining to the skimmer pipe line.

Acerteli

Nov 25, 2021
California
Hi all.

I am new to pool maintenance and am trying to get my Hayward Max-Flo pump to prime.

I had recently took my Pentair cartridge filter out to clean it. Once I placed it back in, my pump is not able to prime.

I am attempting to fill the pump/ strainer housing with water, but it never fills up all the way.
The water gets drained through the skimmer pipe line.

The pool is filled with water, above 50% of the skimmer. The skimmer basket is clear and cleaned.
I’ve checked the impeller and it’s clear of any debris.
The impeller does seem to spin a little slow when I manually turn it.
What’s happening with the water in my pump/ strainer housing?

Note: my pump is above the water level of my in-ground pool.
See attached pictures.
Thank you in advance!

Attachments

• 65A7C197-F978-4D1D-A5EC-F23EDC5F3709.jpeg
    65A7C197-F978-4D1D-A5EC-F23EDC5F3709.jpeg
    379.7 KB · Views: 18
  • 7D66A389-D2F6-4ABE-844A-A48E752A281E.jpeg
    7D66A389-D2F6-4ABE-844A-A48E752A281E.jpeg
    361.8 KB · Views: 15
  • 98D7B53E-DBA7-4853-986A-02173BB134B5.jpeg
    98D7B53E-DBA7-4853-986A-02173BB134B5.jpeg
    801.5 KB · Views: 16
  • F1D44F35-54DB-4CB2-B505-4A89EC3EBC12.jpeg
    F1D44F35-54DB-4CB2-B505-4A89EC3EBC12.jpeg
    325.3 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
I am attempting to fill the pump/ strainer housing with water, but it never fills up all the way.
The water gets drained through the skimmer pipe line.

Ace,

News Flash!!! Gravity at work... :mrgreen: If your equipment pad is above your pool, then water will always drain back into the pool due to gravity.

This should not prevent your pump from priming.. It should take a few seconds and the pump should "self prime" by creating a vacuum and sucking water out of the pool.

Tell us what happens after you put the pump lid on and run the pump for 30 seconds to a minute.

Thanks,

Jim R.

Ace,