LifeTime Supporter
May 7, 2015
Catalunya, Spain
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
I'm in Spain and this pump just died and I need to replace it quick as my PH has drifted over 8 and I need to get some acid in pronto.

I'm new to pumps but I've just read here that variable speed pumps are the way to go and that bumping up to 1.5hp from 1.0 hp would be a wise move.

I have a 3 phase supply and have seen Pentair Intelliflo mentioned as the 'gold star'. Putting that into google brings up pumps between €1800 and €2100, I can't stretch to that. What would be a good budget variable speed for 2" pipes?

I've done some plumbing and simple swap over electrics but if it needs new power to be supplied I'll have to call an electrician.

I don't have a SWCG or heater or anything, just jugs of bleach and a hand held vacuum cleaner.

Any pump recommendations come to mind?

Many thanks for any suggestions.

Maybe confused on your situation but can’t you just pour some acid in the water to bring the pH down and deal with the pump issue separately?

The pump issue is my main issue but I mentioned the PH level as I need the pump to circulate the acid. I've read that pouring acid into a pool without the pump running can do damage to the pool floor.

Reactions: Bperry
@drsipe The pump was running last night but today it wouldn't turn on. After removing a timer panel I found a small reset button which had popped out so i pushed it back in. I turned the pump on and straight away could hear that the pump wasn't turning but was receiving power so immediately switched it off. It sounds like the motor has seized.

@mknauss I have a broom and if I takes a week to get a new pump fitted I will use it to distribute the acid.

Any more suggestions for pumps?

Edit, I was writing this while jsygrls posted, thanks for the link (y)

Last edited: