Mar 19, 2021
rhode island
Pool Size
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
Moved from here.
hello boys!!! been a long time reader and this is my first time posting! sorry for bumping an old thread but after dealing with pentair warranty department for over a year and finally winning the argument i have been searching for a way to hopefully limit my contact with them for as long as possible.
so after searching and reading for about 2 weeks i think this is the answer to my problem. for reasons unbeknowst to me (or pentair) my motherboard had to be replaced this winter. now i have narrowed the cause of the low voltage line failure down to my indoor control panel being hard wired to my j20 connector and somehow having a surge on it back to panel.
So my question is to wire this RS485 surge protector to my line to panel do i need 2? I've looked for a 4 wire version but found none. And it looks like Jim R and ogden have some experience with them> any help would be greatly appreciated thanks guys

Welcome to TFP.

RS-485 is only 2 wires. The other 2 wires on the Pentair connector are for power. To protect the RS-485 chip you connect the surge suppressor to the yellow and green wire contacts.

That surge protector only protects the two RS-485 data lines.

gotcha thanks for the quick reply and help!!! just ordered one for data lines!! Should i look at all for protection on the +15vdc line? i had a rough year dealing with pentair and after basically having to walk them thru the events leading to board failure with a digital multimeter and reading this post
Pentair 520712 Motherboard Com Port Burns Out