Pentair MasterTemp 400 Heater Won't Light

rrinsa

Jan 14, 2022
Central TX
I have a 3 yr old Pentair MasterTemp 400 (LP) that won't light. When I start the heater, the blower comes on right away. After about 20 seconds, there's a loud buzzing noise that seems to be coming from the gas valve. It continues for 7 seconds then stops for about a minute and repeats. It does this 3 times before shutting down. The Fenwal Automatic Ignition System flashes the red error LED 3 times (Ignition Lockout). No error messages on the LCD panel and no red LEDs on back of the circuit board. Appreciate any tips on what to check. A new gas valve runs about $320, so I'm hoping it's something else.

A buzzing noise is usually a symptom of a relay not fully closing or possibly a gas valve solenoid that is not fully opening. This can be caused by a physical problem such as a manufacturing defect or wear and tear. It can also be from insufficient voltage to the relay or gas valve solenoid to operate it correctly. You should put your fingers lightly on the gas valve as the heater is attempting to fire up to see if you can isolate the buzzing/chattering to the gas valve. If it is the gas valve and you have a multimeter, you should check the voltage and amp draw of the gas valve as it is being powered. Excessive amp draw above the gas valve nameplate amp draw would be indicative of a gas valve solenoid that is not fully opening. There are a couple less frequent causes, but not knowing your heater set up it is usually best to check the more obvious causes first.

While its buzzing, give it a sharp rap with a hammer. Wonder why Swamp didnt advise this first. Insider trick.
Time to change it out. Let Pentair know, if its a package with two other Pentair products, its covered under a three year warranty. Check the orifice for debris. Have the gas company put a manometer on the valve to see if the gas press. is in specs.

Last edited: