Owner Builder Process Question

timaay

Oct 5, 2014
san diego
Hi All,

I've been reading and researching the owner builder process for some time and this forum has been a tremendous resource, thank you! People have provided such great detailed information and it has made me decide to go the OB route for my pool build in the San Diego, CA area. I've gotten several bids from local PB's but they are all priced high with very 'standard' features... meaning you don't get much pool here from a PB unless you pay a lot more than their initial quote.

I was hoping that some of the people that have gone through a build (owner builder or even using a PB) could chime in and let me know if I have the general process down. I know there are a lot of things to 'look' for during each phase and i'm a pretty intense researcher so will be making out long lists while i'm in each phase but for now i just want to make sure i have the steps in the correct order. Again this is a very broad/high level i know there's lots more but just want to organize my thinking...

-Measure all dimensions of yard
-Design pool (pool studio)
-Send 1/8" design from pool studio to a company like pooleng.com for engineering
-Use blueprint from above to apply for city/hoa permits/approval
-Get bids from multiple excavation subs to dig the hole and forming
-Get bids from multiple plumbing subs to do all plumbing work
-Get bids from multiple steel rebar subs to do all steel work
-Get bids from multiple electrical subs to do all electrical work
-First city inspection
-Get bids from multiple shotcrete gunite subs to do concrete
-Get bids from multiple coping/tile/plaster companies to do those items
-Finish plumbing/trenching
-Decking around pool and any other items in the design

I would greatly appreciate any corrections to the items above and if anyone has any good subs in the San Diego area i would LOVE to have you PM with this ;-)