nodejs-poolcontroller question

Oct 25, 2018
Sarasota Florida
Hey All, I have a Pentair Intelliflo VS+SRVS pump and a Pentair Solar EasyTouch system. I'd like to automate these and was going to go down the path of shelly controllers but am now looking at NodeJS-PoolController for this project. Can I simply connect both the EasyTouch and the Pump to my RS485 adapter on my raspberryPi? I know this is probably obvious to most but I'm just getting into the project.

Sorry, it's not an EasyTouch, it's a SolarTouch controller. I currently have the pump, the solartouch, and a Pool Pilot Digital Nano.
Can I still connect directly to these with the RS485 and the Nodejs-PoolController project or is an EasyTouch system a pre-req?

No an EasyTouch is not required. However, the SolarTouch will try to control the pump if it is connect to it. Honestly, I would simply disconnect it and use Nixie. The Nano doesn't talk with anything as far as I am aware.

No an EasyTouch is not required. However, the SolarTouch will try to control the pump if it is connect to it. Honestly, I would simply disconnect it and use Nixie. The Nano doesn't talk with anything as far as I am aware.
I just want to say thank you for all of your answers! You're helping me on two threads and I very much appreciate it. One more question, if an EasyTouch is not required, and I'm hooking directly to my pump, do I have to buy an IntelliFlo device or a Flo-Buster to send pump speeds or can this be done directly with the RS485 and a RaspberryPi? If I can go directly then I think the Nixie build would be great, but if I'm buying actuators, I'm leaning more towards a Sonoff wifi relay and just bringing this into HomeAssistant and writing my scenes/automations there.

Here's the Flo-Buster for reference Upstream Controls