No chlorine again, clear water but think I have some sort of algae...

willy17

Bronze Supporter
Oct 17, 2017
Whitby Ontario Canada
Hi All, finally got a test kit, had thought I had my issues under control but they seem to be back. I had some sort of issue a couple weeks back that I thought I had beat following advice and reading forms here. Bombed the thing with bleach, but home from work this morning, I check, and water clear but no chlorine. I checked my skimmer sock (in since Sunday evening - kids have been in but not a massive pool party or anything) and it has an orangish/brownish film on it, I will try to add picture to the post. I am new to the K2006 test kit but believe I am getting the hang of it. I am going to post 2 test results, I am guessing this road leads to a SLAM but before I start any idea what the heck I have going on here? Could the brown/orange be as simple as pollen (no ring around pool so I’m thinking worse than that).
July 7 test
PH-7.6
FC- 3.2
CC- .4
CH-220
TA- 110
CYA - 65
After this test, we were in the pool but I did run about 4 hours on superchlorinate. At end of night I did top pool up a couple inches with hose water and we get a fair amount of evaporation. Did not add any chems, nor did I cover pool or anything. LAst couple weeks I was running the system 24 hours, but chlorine had stayed high through week, so knocked it down to running overnight, which I’m guessing is a mistake I make too - trying to save a buck but not sure its worth this frustration. (Runs 7 hours overnight weekdays, and all through day 9-7 on weekends)
Kids in for a little bit last night but again only 2 of them...
This mornings test:
PH - 7.6
FC - 0
CC- 0
TA - 120
CH - 200
CYA - 70

DBC08963-F766-4A70-AE6C-A872478D6FF5.jpeg

Thanks for your help in advance.

Zero FC and a CYA of 70 are not a good sign. How much FC are you adding each day with your SWCG?