Jul 2, 2021
Huntsville, AL
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi, TFP!

I've been handling the pool care at my sister-in-law's new house since she bought it about a month ago. It's kind of a long story, but she bought it as a temporary home to store all her furniture and stuff while she builds a home and then my wife and I will buy the home from her and do some major renovations. So, I thought since it'd be our pool eventually and no one will be living at the house for a while, I would be the one to take care of the pool.

This is my first time being the primary carer for a pool. I did help do plenty of pool chores for my family's pool when I was growing up, but I didn't truly understand what I needed to do when and why.

I had been aware of the TFP method for a while, so I bought a TF-Pro kit and immediately started using it with the pool. I go over to the house every day or two to test and add liquid chlorine and/or muriatic acid.

The previous owner was using Trichlor tabs in an in-line feeder. During the second week, I turned the feeder on and left it at the lowest setting as a backup method to make sure the FC didn't dive too much if I skipped a day to check on the pool. The CYA was around 30 then. By the next time I measured CYA, it was up to 80. I learned my lesson and have kept the feeder off since then.