New Build in SE PA (contract phase)

rbarci910

Aug 12, 2020
Phoenixville, PA
Hi All,

I am brand new to the pool game and looking for all the help I can get. I stumbled across this site and have already learned more about pools than I ever thought I needed to know. My wife and I have never built or owned a pool. In laws built a liner pool (north central pa) after my wife moved out. She's still bitter about that! We are in the early stages and starting to get quotes. So far we have quotes from two local builders, neither are national chains. We are waiting on a third and might possibly get a couple more. Construction-wise they are very similar. Both use 1/2" rebar, hydrostatic relief plugs, lifetime structural warranties, etc. Pool depth is tbd but will likely be 3.5ft - 6/6.5ft. I'm hoping to get help on the equipment each is offering and if there is anything else I should be asking to include. Does one package seem better than the other?

Quote #1
  • 660 sq ft gunite free form (quartz finish)
  • 90 sq ft sunshelf
  • 50 sq ft raised spa
  • Sta-Rite 53 SF Sta-Rite DE filter
  • Sta-Rite Intellipro VS pump
  • Sta-Rite 333k BTU natural gas heater
  • Auto Pilot Salt System
  • Pentair 5g led color pool light ( 1 pool, 1 spa)
  • Polaris TR 35P with Booster Pump
  • Pentair Screen Logic Smart Controls
Quote #2
  • 650 sq ft gunite free form (quartz finish)
  • 100 sq ft sunshelf
  • 40 sq ft raised spa
  • Jandy DEV 60 filter
  • Jandy Flo pro 1.85 hp VS pump
  • JXI 400,000 BTU natural gas heater
  • FSOFT Fusion soft salt chlorinator
  • Jandy Watercolors LED color pool light (1 pool, 1 spa)
  • Polaris TR 35P with Booster Pump
  • iAquaLink

Thank you in advance for any help given.

Reactions: Dave1096

YippeeSkippy

Mod Squad
LifeTime Supporter
Jan 17, 2012
Evans, Georgia