Costa Rica
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-30
I'm still very new at this and would like either confirmation that I'm thinking this through correctly or please set me straight.

First time pool owner as of Nov 2020. At that time, it had two single speed pumps (2HP for spa jets, 1HP for pool) and a sand filter. Soon after, we added a SWG and changed to Pentair CC100 cartridge filter.

A few days ago the 1HP pool pump died. I replaced with a 1.5HP Intelliflo VSF. During installation I realized that although everything else is 2", the pump to filter connection was 1.5". Don't know why, maybe it was a relic of the previous sand filter that the installer didn't change but while installing the new pump I charged it to 2" to match everything else.

Now I'm trying to program the pump and it makes sense to me to program using flow rate rather than RPM since the pump is capable of it. So I'm trying to figure out the max flow rate that I could be using for the 3 or 4 hours per day that I choose to run it for skimmer action.

I decided to work backwards from determining the max flow rate for my system. Everything is now 2" and depending where I look I find a max flow to be approximately 75 GPM. The CC100 filter lists max 100 GPM but digging deeper, it's specifications say that 0.5 GPM per sqft (50 GPM) is preferred.

If I hadn't dug into the specs I would have ran with 100 GPM for the filter and considered the 2" max flow to be the limiting factor. I have no idea what the flow was in the system prior to swapping out the pump.

I understand that ultimately (respecting max flow) the settings I choose are up to me and what tends to work for our pool but I'm curious what others think about the recommended 0.5 GPM/sqft for the filter versus the far easier to find 100 GPM spec.