Maine Inground, Early Design Questions

KJohn

Gold Supporter
Bronze Supporter
Aug 13, 2020
Maine
Hello.

What a helpful site, so valuable to have folks willing to share their expertise!

We are planning to install a 20x40 (vinyl) or 16x40 (fiberglass) rectangular pool for laps, grandkids/friends/family, and hanging out. A few basic questions that I haven't been able to answer so far:

First, local installers are pretty backlogged, so I'd like to do as much of the install as possible. As a semi-retired general contractor, I have hands-on experience with sitework/drainage/plumbing etc., but not with pools. Dumb idea to DIY?

And type of pool:

Vinyl: I like that vinyl is less expensive initially, and replacing the liner gives the pool a make-over. But

1. Installing the 2" base material, and the liner itself, looks daunting.
2. The frame: it can be polymer or steel - will polymer be pushed around/damaged by Maine frost (I have high water table, clayey soils, code is 48" for frost)?
3. How long will a steel frame resist rusting out? Folks I've talked to don't recommend polymer here, but I'm concerned how long steel will hold up in wet soils and fairly high ground water.
4. Is it true that a salt water pool is not recommended with a steel frame?

Fiberglass: I like that it's easier to install, and should last a long time.

1. Is there a consensus on how long a good fiberglass pool can be expected to last?
2. And how long until it might need to be re-surfaced?
3. Will 48" frost and a high water table damage a fiberglass pool?
4. Is it true that a FG pool uses less chemicals and is easier to maintain than vinyl?

Many thanks in advance for guidance on this.

Hey John and welcome !!

vinyl :
1). You have plenty of experience to help you
2) they both work and a 3rd option is a concrete foundation like shell that holds the liner.