Ontario, Canada
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite Pro (T-15)
it's my first year in house with pool, the company that opened the pool back in May left the gizzmo plugged in the second hole (for the pipe which goes to the 2 main drains (I have 2 drains with curved large covers to prevent someone from getting stuck to them so I know they are safe). I live in Ontario, Canada so in winter we have freezing temperatures.

My question is if the main drains should be left closed off even when the pool is open? I am assuming I should keep them open for better circulation and make sure the drains don't get clogged due to no water circulating through them, am I wrong?

OC,

You might get slightly better circulation with the main drain open, but not enough that you would even notice. When the main drain is closed, you get more skimmer suction, so it kind of balances out.

I have two rent house pools that do not have operating main drains and they seem to work just fine. The pool at my house has a main drain, but I normally run it at about 95% closed. I can't really tell any difference with the drain closed or opened. I open it about 5% just to keep a little water flow in it.

And just to be picky... You have two drain covers, but they actually go into one pipe leading back to your equipment pad, so you really only have one main drain. :mrgreen:

Thanks,

Jim R.

Reactions: OntarioCanada
OC,

You might get slightly better circulation with the main drain open, but not enough that you would even notice. When the main drain is closed, you get more skimmer suction, so it kind of balances out.

I have two rent house pools that do not have operating main drains and they seem to work just fine. The pool at my house has a main drain, but I normally run it at about 95% closed. I can't really tell any difference with the drain closed or opened. I open it about 5% just to keep a little water flow in it.