Main drain vs skimmer - Pressure

nameBrandon

Mar 24, 2019
Chicago
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to pool ownership and had shared my initial pool renovation thread here (The Great Mistake (photo heavy!) ). The pool is gunite, ~22k gallons, built-in spa, ~30 years old. Now that the pool itself is in good shape, we're focusing on the equipment. The pool company we use for the renovations (new lines, skimmers, replaster, new deck, etc..) seemed to be having trouble consistently getting the filter pump and filter to run. It would hold pressure a little bit and the filter/pump would prime and work, then eventually water would stop sloshing around the top of the filter (Sand filter, BTW) and the pressure would hang out around 2 psi. The only equipment partially working is the filter and the main filter pump. The spa jets and the booster pumps are all dead. All of the equipment is original (except the heater), so we're taking 30-year-old sunken pad with cracked and patched PVC, rusted out pumps, 30" filter that is one big egg of exposed fiberglass, etc... The company has repeatedly said they pressure tested all of the new lines multiple times and they hold pressure just fine.

This week, I had a company working for the home warranty we purchased look at the equipment (see if we can get anything replaced under warranty). These guys seemed pretty good. Right away he moved to running the filter / pump off of the main drain which he said had 100% pressure and worked fine. He said when hooked up to the skimmers as it should be, he was seeing about 85% pressure and there was a minor leak. This was already a fair bit more information than I'd gotten from the main pool contractor, and using the main drain actually allowed for consistent running of the filter, pump and heater, so we could start to use the pool a bit.