Slidell, LA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Jandy Aquapure 1400
I am a newbie to pool ownership. Our pool just got completed in late December so it’s too cold to use. We have been using the heck out of the spa though. The last couple of times I’ve come in, I have noticed that my legs feel very itchy as soon as I enter.

I read some threads where it was stated that high chlorine levels could do this. While my FC is on the elevated side (about 5ppm and I have my SWG turned to off right now), my TC is the same. It doesn’t seem ridiculous.

I’m testing with a TF-100. Any ideas what the issue may be? See below for screenshot of levels.

1676512134242.png

Hey Nismo and belated Welcome !!!

I read some threads where it was stated that high chlorine levels could do this. While my FC is on the elevated side (about 5ppm
Your FC isn't high with a CYA of 60. It buffers the FC and its entirely safe up to SLAM level / 40% / 24 FC. Tap water with 0 CYA and up to 4 FC is more harsh than your pool water, so if you can shower without issue, it's not the chlorine.

You mention the SWG is off. How are you chlorinating ? How often ? If this were a traditional hot tub and not a spa we'd point to bacteria / hot tub rash from letting the FC levels dip. Spa bather load is off the charts and needs lots of sanitation to match it. If the SWG is off and you're not exchanging the water with the pool, it's probably responding like a hot tub that isn't sanitized enough.

Reactions: nismosao
Are you using the fas/dpd test? The one with drops & powder that turns pink then clear.
You should have results for
FC (good stuff)
& cc’s (bad stuff)
Fc + cc = TC
The OTO test (yellow drops in the comparator block) is not very accurate as it only measures TC & only up to 5ppm.

Reactions: nismosao
Yes, I turned the SWG off to get it in more acceptable ranges. It’s only been off for about 2 days. I’m of the understanding that FC levels should ideally be about 3.6ish, correct?