Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Astral Viron eQuilibrium EQ25
Hi all,
I have read a few threads from a while back about insulating an above ground pool. I work in the energy efficiency industry and this seems an absolute no brainer. Even it’s often said most is lost through the surface, obviously that changes once you have a blanket. So yes blanket first, but definitely still worth insulating the sides.
I am planning on using bubble wrap which seams to be the cheapest option, and enveloping in heavy duty black plastic to keep water out and protect from UV.
I am pretty confident it will make a massive difference. Any thoughts or issues I might have missed?

Attachments

• FB22F8B4-0986-49D4-A8F5-6954BA7A6719.jpeg
    FB22F8B4-0986-49D4-A8F5-6954BA7A6719.jpeg
    640.6 KB · Views: 26
  • 2FE5C8E5-7C8D-4429-B502-C86AE01CBE49.jpeg
    2FE5C8E5-7C8D-4429-B502-C86AE01CBE49.jpeg
    451.5 KB · Views: 25
Hi all,
I have read a few threads from a while back about insulating an above ground pool. I work in the energy efficiency industry and this seems an absolute no brainer. Even it’s often said most is lost through the surface, obviously that changes once you have a blanket. So yes blanket first, but definitely still worth insulating the sides.
I am planning on using bubble wrap which seams to be the cheapest option, and enveloping in heavy duty black plastic to keep water out and protect from UV.
I am pretty confident it will make a massive difference. Any thoughts or issues I might have missed?

You work in the energy efficiency industry, but are choosing bubble wrap?

I'm really confused right now.

Are u planning on putting this between the liner & walls or on the outside of the walls?
They sell foam for the interior of the pool walls. Wrapping anything around the outside is asking for rust. Above Ground Pools sweat.

Last edited:
Reactions: Newdude