DFW, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Pentair Intellichlor IC-40
New pool started last Sept. I'm in DFW and kept the pool open thru the winter. So I'm totally new to this. This week with the heat wave was the first time my chlorine almost hit zero. So I thru a tab in the skimmer and turned up my SWG to 70% yesterday.
But I don't really know the increments to cleaning my Cell. What do you guys/gals do?
Anybody use the scale reducer Purple magic or anything to prevent scale?

There are two types of people that love ones that regularly throw tabs in the skimmer; those that replace equipment and those that replace skimmers. unless the pump runs 24/7 you are looking for problems.
When the pump is off, the tablet continues to dissolve and one of the first things that corrosive "soup' hits is the spring on the shaft seal. The acid will weaken it, cause it to leak, and by the time most people are aware of the leak it has, at best, ruined the front bearing in the motor.

Put enough tablets in a skimmer and the very-low pH solution will get through a filter to a heater. Copper heat exchangers are very expensive.

Each brand of SWG has a cleaning schedule recommended, but it is usually every 3 months for many. The proper way is also outlined in the manual, which are available online.

Reactions: Mdragger88
Along with the warning about tabs in teh skimmer, be sure to use our PoolMath APP and maintain a slightly negative CSI level. That should help to reduce or even prevent future scale build up.

Also I use the high pressure nozzle on my garden hose. I have a hooked wire for pieces the get stuck the plastic “grill”. I don’t use pool acid or vinegar for cleaning, ever.
The bottom line as Mr. Splash said is keep your numbers in line and less will stick to your plates.

Reactions: YippeeSkippy