High CH and Green Algae stains - pool store saying that algae "embedded" in Calcium crystals

Thilding

Jul 14, 2019
Phoenix AZ
I am new to this helpful forum and with your assistance performed what I thought was a successful SLAM around 2 weeks ago. FC levels stable, no CC and water clear for days. My problem is that I continue to have green algae stains along the sides and bottom of my pool. The algae stains are worst in the deep end and anywhere there is a lot of shade. I used a chlorine puck and was able to scrub green stains off so I am fairly certain I am dealing with algae. Repeated water tests at Leslie's pool store show 0ppm copper and iron.

My CH level is very high - 900ppm - but I cannot drain my pool right now because I live in the desert and daytime temperatures are always over 100 degrees. I do plan on draining the pool as soon as the weather cools.
As hard as I tried I could not brush the algae from the pebbletech surface and the local pool store staff think the algae has become trapped in the calcium scale. They recommend that I treat the pool with an anti scale chemical after swimming season is over, leave it in the water for 3-4 weeks and then drain the pool. They are telling me that the algae should release with the calcium from the pebbletech.

My question is this - is it plausible that I would still have algae stains after a successful SLAM in a pebbletech pool with high CH and very high round the clock temperatures? Or is it more probable that I did not successfully complete my first SLAM?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you can provide ~ Theresa