Hibernation...

VWRosco

Feb 22, 2019
Tahoe Area
Hello,
I am a long-time troublefreepool forum interloper and finally, new member. I have appreciated greatly the wealth of information available here and have used info. from the forum as well as poolmath to dial in my troubled hot tub in the Tahoe area with success.
Here is what I'd like to learn more about.
We are building an in-ground pool in Mexico, southern Baja to be specific. We are generally down there in the winter months Dec.-April (as much as we can afford to be) and are never there during the hot months-May-Nov. We would like to fill the pool and then cover it and leave it until our next return. There may be 7 or 8 months w/out anyone down there. The other, major, factor is that our place operates on solar power and when we leave, the panels get put away for the season.
I am totally new to pools and am reading on-line from some cover manufacturers about their "shut-down" covers. "Simply turn off your pump, cover and good to go!!" they say. Is this hocus-pocus?? We would need some kind of solution other than the obvious- drain and re-fill every time we come down (we don't want to do this.) The cover and walk away option sounds too good to be true.
Is it possible to turn off the system, add chemicals, cover the pool and leave it for extended periods in our climate (we sit right on the tropic of cancer)?
I appreciate and look forward to any feedback.

Welcome to the forum!:handwave:

What kind of cover are you thinking of?

You can do most anything. But you will most likely be draining, cleaning, descaling, etc when you visit in the fall. And need buckets of chlorine, etc.

I am sure other members will have other questions and ideas.