Helping a family out with their tile setting and other things

Dugrass247

Aug 26, 2020
Concord, CA
New to the forum. A little background on myself. So I am a medic firefighter here in California very busy at this time. In 1980 through 1995 ish I built swimming pools. Due to my nature which is to help people in the community I met a young family actually the mother and two little girls. I happened to over hear a conversation about a green swimming pool. the young woman was going to drain the pool that is when I decided I should but in and give the old warning all people get when they drain the pool. Well that turned into a trip to her house. On the way to the house (keeping it short) The young family had lost her husband and father of he to 5 and seven yr old girls in a horrible accident the about 5 months prior. At this time the Covid 19 thing was just starting. She had gotten laid off and was trying to just save the house from being foreclosed on. I looked at the pool and the pool seal had never been redone in 30+ years. the horizontal cracking where the mortar bed had separated from the bond beam had been filled endlessly with caulking. Hollow spots under coping and plaster showing through to brown coat in spots. I recommended getting the pool re-plastered. This whole time the little princesses were relentlessly asking me mister are we going to be able to swim again. OMG it was torture. The end result is She cannot afford to remodel the swimming pool and has put some money into this project that YES I TOOK ON MYSELF. As I got into it there are two structure cracks and the bond beam was leveled on top and tile face with sloppy mortar. So to try to save the pool I looked into epoxy painting it if I can get the bond beam all square again to re-attach the coping and new tile. So far I have paid for the tile, backs of portland cement and 60 mesh sand, some water proofing (masterseal 581). I have discovered that either at 50 my mind isn't sharp as I thought or there ar