Help: Staining in fiberglass pool

PooolGuyy

Mar 18, 2019
Southeast US
Hi guys, I'm new on here and have something I need help with. I had a medium sized salt fiberglass pool installed late last summer so Im new to pool care in general. The white fiberglass has developed a tanish brownish greenish color that doesn't brush off. Its not just in one place, its all over (wherever the water is). Ive kept the pool running all year and didn't close it off since it usually doesn't get too cold where I live. Chlorine, ph etc is all high except alkalinity is too low. I've kept it relatively clean during the winter. Sometimes got a little dirty but nothing too much.

Does anyone know what staining is from and how to get rid of it? I've attached a picture. You can see its not the pure white that its supposed to be.

Thanks!

Attachments

• 20190318_185049.jpg
    20190318_185049.jpg
    162.7 KB · Views: 34
Welcome to the forum!
Can't say I see much in the picture. Have you added any copper based algaecides, products with the word Blue in them, does your water have iron in it?

Can you be a bit more specific in your location? Can make a difference if you are in Key West versus the Blue Ridge Mountains.
Also please fill out a signature. Be sure to include what test kit you use to monitor your pool water chemistry.

I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry and consider reviewing the entire Pool School eBook.

Welcome! :wave: Along with what Marty recommmended above, using one of the recommended test kits, post a full set of water test results. That's always a good place to start so we can help you determine if the discoloration is organic, iron, copper, or perhaps something else.
Trouble Free Pool

Please obtain a proper test kit. We do not rely on pool store tests for guidance.

Good luck.

Hey guys, thanks for the replies. I've attached the test results that I had done today. Anyone know what the staining could be from?