Our pool has been green for about 7 days. Here are our test results:

FC 2
CC 4
TC 6
CH 350
TA 180
CYA 31
pH 8.2

I know everything is way out of whack. What do we do first? Thanks so much for your help!

Jenng717

Jul 21, 2020
Billerica, MA
Ok. Thanks. So should we get the pH down first or just start putting bleach in? Thank you....total newbies here. And from what I’ve read, shut the SWG off while SLAMing, right?

lager1829

Gold Supporter
Jul 8, 2015
Lancaster County, PA
Ok. Thanks. So should we get the pH down first or just start putting bleach in? Thank you....total newbies here. And from what I’ve read, shut the SWG off while SLAMing, right?
Straight from the SLAM process link:

Check and adjust the PH to between 7.2 and 7.5. The PH test isn’t reliable during SLAMing so make sure to take care of this before you start.

The best solution to this is simply shut off the SWG, Liquidator, injection pump, etc. and use liquid chlorine only for the duration of the SLAM

mknauss

Mod Squad
TFP Expert
Bronze Supporter
May 3, 2014
Laughlin, NV
Welcome to the forum!
Read the SLAM Process.
Lower your pH to 7.2 using acid. Do this in two steps. From your 8.2 target 7.6. Add the acid, circulate for an hour, test pH and TA, then add enough acid to lower to 7.2.
Then add bleach to raise your FC to SLAM level (see FC/CYA Chart). A CYA of 31 is not possible to measure. So use a CYA of 40 ppm.
Test the FC and add bleach every couple hours if possible.
I suggest you read ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry.

Jenng717

Jul 21, 2020
Billerica, MA
Thank you. I’ve read the SLAMing process and ABCs of pool water chemistry over and over the past few days. It’s still like reading a foreign language to me. I’m just trying to reassure myself before dumping stuff into the pool and crossing my fingers that it works.

duraleigh

Admin
Mod Squad
TFP Expert
Platinum Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
In The Industry
Apr 1, 2007
Sebring, Florida