Diane12569

Jul 4, 2022
Yorktown Hts, NY
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
My pool has been cloudy for weeks. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to taking care of our pool. We've always had trouble with the pool and my husband gave up and didn't even open the pool last year. So, I decided to take over but I'm not getting anywhere either.

We started the summer with a gross, swampy mess. We replaced some old equipment and put fresh sand in the filter. I have shocked, re-shocked, vacuumed, brushed, backwashed, etc. over and over again. I've been running the filter 24/7. The pool store suggested we flocc the pool, but that didn't help.

I ordered a TF-Pro test kit today (I've been using strips and Poolmaster 5-way) so I don't have any accurate numbers. I'm just looking for advice on what to do until the test kit comes. Any advice would be appreciated.

I ordered a TF-Pro test kit today
Music to our ears! :party: Soon you'll have accurate numbers and all of this will make sense. In the meantime, be sure to bookmark our Pool Care Basics page and read the SLAM Process. You might also start using the PoolMath APP. In a pool your size you can add one gallon of liquid chlorine per day until the kit arrives. Don't bother with anything else. We'll walk you through everything once you post your numbers. Welcome to TFP! :wave:

Reactions: jeffchap
I was a complete noob when it came to pool maintenance. The many wonder folks here at TFP have made maintaining my pool a breeze. I got the testing kit and was overwhelmed at first, but one of the advice here was to read each test individually and just follow along. As it turns out, it's ridiculously easy.

I literally spend a total of 4 minutes per day "maintaining" our pool. First 2 mins for basic Chlorine and PH testing, and another 2 minute adding Chlorine or Muriatic Acid.