Help for a new but soon to be proficient pool owner.

Amyannwilson

Aug 9, 2019
Iowa
Good morning. So I am new to pool ownership. We have a 22000 gallon in ground vinyl liner and live in Iowa. We’ve Been here 2 months and have a pool company come out to check chemicals and replenish got our bill which was close to $800.....who knew. Pool people were here 4 days ago on Monday before I canceled and go figure the water has been cloudy since. So awhile back I ordered the recommended test kit. Put my big girl pants on and put it to use this morning. I am having problems with the CYA I can see that black dot no matter what. The rest I seen confident in. The pool people left the following: Pool life 3inch stabilized chlorination , pool life gold medal clarifier, pool life turboshock 78%, pool life ph minus and pool life super algaebomb algaecide. The app is saying reduce PH. I think I am screwed on calcium, we have naturally hard water here. Don’t want to create a bigger problem. I just need some encouragement and reassuring advice. I presently have no algae and typically the pool is cloudy the rest of the day when the pool people come which was Monday but then stays clear the rest of the week. But not this week slightly cloudy. Thanks sorry for the long post. Happy weekend to all!

Attachments

• 3E3EE4F7-346C-4933-951F-C3446306D8FF.png
    3E3EE4F7-346C-4933-951F-C3446306D8FF.png
    601 KB · Views: 17
You are in good hands here. Most of the stuff they left you won't want to use. You need some stabilizer and some liquid chlorine. Try reading the articles under Pool School to get a better idea of how the chemistry works. I'm sure there will be somebody along to give you more detailed advice.