HELP! Cloudy Pool here!!

jmw_man

Aug 4, 2018
Dallas
So, I'm not exactly new, I'm a 9 year veteran of maintaining my own pool, along with the help of staff at 2 different Crown Pools and two different Leslie's Pool Supplies in the Dallas area.

For the first 6 or 7 years after I bought my house with the pre-existing above ground 25' x 12' (approximate) doughboy pool with the sand dollar (SD-35) filter and 1 HP motor, I was able to keep my pool water crystal clear.

For the last 3 years or so, it's been proving much more difficult. I've been hit with algae all 3 summers I believe. The first time the pump impeller broke, then it took a while to get a replacement, then the second time the pump housing broke, took a while again, then the motor broke, took awhile to get another. Each year I struggled to filter out the white cloudy water, it took longer and longer and longer for it to clear up. This year, I feel like I'm going on 2 months of white cloudy. The storms aren't helpful, and the overhanging tree limbs aren't helpful.

The first thing I need to figure out is backwash frequency. There was a time when I was doing it daily, and all the pool stores said to wait for the pressure to build up, but I have never seen my pressure climb more than 1 psi above the starting pressure of 16 psi. Right now, if I turn it off, and turn it back on, it spews cloudy water into the pool. I just rebuild my filter a month ago with new sand. I'm not sure what the issue is all of a sudden this year. In previous years, I have to say that when the pool water was cloudy, I was having more success when backwashing daily, but the pool guys swore against it, but I'm not seeing any improvement this year when just trying to let the pressure build up, it never builds up.

more to come later, need to head to the grocery store.

woodyp

Mod Squad
TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Apr 17, 2010
East Texas