Hayward H400 Natural Gas Heater - Rusted-out bracket that temperature limiter mounts to

RonInSoFla

Jul 4, 2020
West Palm Beach, FL
Hi, I'm a newbie here. I have a Hayward H400 natural gas pool and spa heater that is now about 14 years old. My kids wanted to use the spa last weekend but the heater was not coming on. Upon checking it myself, I saw it was giving the IF code - ignition failure. I changed modes back to pool, waited for the valves to turn plus a few minutes more, and then changed back to spa mode. Once back in spa mode I attempted to turn on the heater and it behaved as it is supposed to when there is an ignition failure - 3 cycles of ignition attempts and then posted the IF code again. I was able to smell the gas during ignition attempts and could hear the "whoomp" but there was no ignition.

I removed the front cover and was somewhat surprised to find that there was what I now believe to be a temperature limiter just hanging from its black and white wires, because the metal bracket it appears to have been mounted to was significantly rusted-out, the screw holes for mounting it were gone, as were the mounting screws. Much of the rest of the bracket is rusted-out as well although the rest of the inside of the heater and all other components look fine. This is the same bracket to which the manifold is screwed. The manifold is fine.