Greetings from the East Bay Area, California!

veganryan

Silver Supporter
May 1, 2021
Hercules, CA
Hi everyone,

This past year, my wife and I purchased a house with our first pool (details in sig and pic attached). Up until about a month ago, I knew nothing about maintaining it. We had the previous owner's company "servicing" it weekly, but I suspected that the "service" was lacking and tested the water at The Big Chain Pool Store. Nothing at all was in balance (CYA was 144, for example), so I fired the company and decided to take the job on myself. I've been stuck at home for a year like most of the rest of you, so I might as well learn and do something new!

This forum has been so incredibly helpful already. I know that I am still an extreme novice, but I also know that I can learn here what I need to when I need to.

Today, I tested my water and it was in balance (or close to it) for the first time since I started this journey.

Then I decided to try to clean my Pentair C&C 420 cartridge filters this afternoon for the first time, and all was going well until I was unable to get the drain plug removed. It's stuck! Super stuck! I can't loosen it further or tighten it back up. There are plenty of posts on this forum with potential fixes, so I'll keep working on it.

Anyway, I just wanted to say hello, and thanks for your excellent forum, and thanks in advance for all future advice.

Ryan
Hercules, Ca

Attachments

• mid.jpg
    mid.jpg
    346.8 KB · Views: 10
Howdy Ryan! welcome to the Forum!

So, why are you removing your cartridge filter drain plug? Just to do it one time? I leave mine in, I remove the cartridges clean them and put them back in.. I only pull the lower drain if I have a lot of gunk down there and it make a big puddle on the pad. So I will tend to use the shop vac first. So.. send us a pic of the offending plug.

BTW your pool looks awesome! you need to post a pic in the TFP clear thread!