Flakes in Returns but CH low . . . Help

May 28, 2014
Fairfield County CT
Hi TFP Members -

I've been using the TFP for the past 4 years with great results, however, I managed to get the salt too high and now I get "flakes" in my deep water returns. I read enough to understand that I need to drain and refill 1/3 of the pool to deal with this and I have a simple Q:

How do I drain 1/3 of the pool water? Is there a setting on my Pentair main pump that will do this or should I drop a sump pump on a shallow end step instead? Also, once drained, should I simply let the auto refill bring the pool back to operating volume or should I buy a tank truck of pool H20?

Thanks in advance!

This year's TFP Test Kit arrives today.

full

The first picture is what the "flakes" look like at the deep water return. I used the pool skimmer net and fished a few out and placed them atop the hose reel box in picture 2. As instructed, I hit these flakes on the top of the hose box with a bit of acid and planned on taking a short video of the results but before I could get my phone out the acid had consumed all the flakes in a violent acidic holocaust!

Fantastic I said to myself! Acid will do the trick! So I emptied 4 gallons of Muriatic Acid into the pool and the problem is over! KIDDING - Relax. Onto the next post.

Attachments

• IMG_0448.jpg
    IMG_0448.jpg
    78.4 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_0449.jpg
    IMG_0449.jpg
    77.1 KB · Views: 6
  • Haha
Reactions: Leebo

Enjoying this content?

Support TFP with a donation.

Give Support
What is your pH?

Is your SWG installed and generating?

pH was right on target last I checked the prior weekend. I'll run it tonight once I'm home from work but my strong guess is it's unchanged from last week. No one has been in the pool. I added zero muriatic acid since I checked last weekend.