First Time New Build: Feedback on Equipment & Materials Please

TuxATX

Jun 1, 2021
Austin, Texas
Hello All, short time lurker first time poster. Building a new pool just outside Austin in Dripping Springs. We picked a builder after talking to a little over half dozen and are starting the permit process so wanted to see if anyone has any strong opinions about what they have laid out below in our build. Need to press them for some specifics on some of the equipment since for instance we changed from chlorinator to SWG and thinking we need the IC40 for our size pool but welcome thoughts here as I'm a newb. Also Attaching preliminary design of our pool and spa when we first looked at a smaller pool/spa (started at 13'x28' with 6'x6' spa) then upped it to 15'x30' and 7'x7'.

Market data for anyone: We received quotes ranging from $99.7k to $130k for basically the same pool. I'm sure there were differences in equipment / pool finishes as 'standard' but didn't get too in the weeds with everyone just a few. The winner was a mid size family owned shop that does everything in house except the gunnite/plaster and seems better suited to hit timelines. They were not the low quote (Anthony & Sylvan was) but they were in line with our 2nd runner up and within a few $k of 2 other quotes. There were 2 on the very high end that I think just didn't want new business as they were the most expensive and also said they couldn't even start the dig until November/December.

Pool Dimensions: 15’x30’ geometric, depth 3.5’ to 5.5’ inclusive of Tanning ledge dimensions 15’x6’ with 9” depth

Spa: 7’x7’ (need to clarify depth assuming standard)

Excavation: All excavation (including rock) included in contract. Floor up to 12” overdig, 9” gunite, up to 9” gravel substrate

Steel: #4 (1/2”) steel rebar, grade 40, 40,000 PSI. 8” on center, 8” alternating 90 degree & 45 degree stirrups

#4 steel rebar tied in perimeter beams of Cantilever

Additional #4 steel rebar tied in areas of high stress