LARichardson

May 3, 2023
Gold Canyon Arizona
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hey everyone. I am new to the TFP forums. I posted about a week ago with my initial problem, which I mainly saw as low pH and high Alkalinity (High Alkalinity, Low pH. Aeration.). Other users replied, telling me that I probably had bigger problems, and that the first step was to get a dependable test kit. So, I got a TF Pro, and ran my first tests:

FC - 7ppm
CC - 0
TC - 7ppm
pH 7.3
TA - 160
CH - 1,125*
CYA - 400**

*CH test was modified, because the solution was not turning blue. I added 8 drops of R-0011L, instead of 3. Adding 45 drops of the R-0012 turned the solution blue.
**CYA test required a 3:1 mix of distilled water to pool water in order to get a reading anywhere close to 100. It was actually a little higher than 100, but I just went with 100 and multiplied by 4.

So, any advice is appreciated. I guess the first thing I'll have to do is either drain/refill or get an RO treatment. I'm considering the latter, as water in these parts is precious.

Good news & bad news. Good job on testing your water wiht a proper test kit. :goodjob: The bad news, you'll really want to exchange some water. While it's certianly common for AZ's to have an elevated CH level, your CYA is well past the manageable mark. Before the sun gets crazy hot over there, would you be able to do a water exchange? That would certainly resolve yoru CYA issue. Of course your fill water may be hard as well, so your CH may still shoot up to 600 or so, but hopefully not over 1,000.

Good thing is your low pH helps to compensate for that crazy high CH.

OK so peep this chart.

Screenshot_20230304_131304_Chrome.jpg

You'll notice that minimum is give or take 8% of the CYA level. At 400, your minimum FC is 32. Algae and far worse things can flourish anytime the FC dips below 32, and your current level of 7 isn't going to scratch the surface.