Finally SWG! - Some confirmation that I am not missing anything?

Pauls234

Silver Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
Jul 4, 2012
Chicago, IL
Pool Size
Surface
Vinyl
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-60 Plus
Hi All,

Heading into my 11st season as a TFPer and regular reader (sometimes contributor) of these forums so have decent high level knowledge of SWGs. I've been threatening to get an SWG for a couple of years now, but pushed it off last 2 because I am home much more due to COVID and work travel dropped to zero. Plus, I only spend about $200 each season on LC, so I've always been able to think of a better use for that $1000 (now $1500). But, I just bought a new pool (too much rust for my comfort on the current) and will be doing some electric upgrades, so seems like as good a time as any.

Given I have ~22K gallons I know I want something rated for over 40K so that knocks out about 75% of the market. My current system is very simple, heater and pump are standard 3 prong plugs and I use a digital timer for pump run time (I heat on demand). Plumbing is straightforward - pump, cartridge filter, heater, single return line, using flex PVC that has held up remarkably well. Nothing is buried, so I don't think that anything in my current set up is a limiting factor in any way, but let me know if I am missing something.

I've pretty well narrowed to to the Circupool Core 55 (55K gallons) and the RJ 60 Plus (60K gallons). Price is the same, both are available, the 60 produces more chlorine. Seems the advantage of the Core 55 is it is simpler, so maybe less things that can go wrong? And the install is easier because it is all in one? What does that mean? The controls and the actual generator are one single item instead of two with the RJ series? I would plan to DIY, but they both seem simple enough. Do they need a hard wire installation or just a standard 3 prong plug?