Feedback On Equipment Selection

Greetings Pool People !
I am a newbie we are just in the construction phase, about to start our dig. I would be so very grateful for some input as I am at a point where I can still make some changes. After following this group I have come to the conclusion I had best focus on the equipment they have put in the plan and get educated ASAP! I would like insure that my equipment will make water quality and maintenance as easy and good as I can get it.
The pool is to be in ground, Gunite , 16x35, they plan pro logic salt system , Hayward tri star 950 variable speed pump , hayward sand filter w/glass media , tiger shark robotic cleaner, Aqua Cal Heat /Cool pump. Questions:
Is sand or Diatomaceous earth filter best ? Any feedback on the pump they plan ? Thoughts on the salt system?
Robotic cleaner feedback , I really was thinking Dolphin or Polaris would be best?
Most important things I need to watch out for during construction?

needsajet

TFP Expert
LifeTime Supporter
Jan 4, 2016
Sydney, NSW, Australia
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
Be sure the saltwater chlorine generator (SWCG ) is the large model T-Cell-15.

Otherwise looking good to me. Nice to keep anything electric in Hayward brand in case automation is added later.

Sand vs. DE... tough one, but for lowest maintenance, least effort, go with sand.

For the most sparkling water, and all TFPC water can be made to sparkle, regardless of filter, go with DE for the sparkliest water for maximum possible total time. Your robot cleaner may have fine mesh or cloth bag that can also clean down to very fine microns, the way DE filters do. Sand can be enhanced a wee bit by adding a small amount of DE after backwashing, but nothing matches DE for flawless diamond status.

I would add auto-fill and overflow, and would go for two skimmers. Not everyone will agree, just my opinion.

Reactions: parkinsmith