Sarasota, Florida
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-9)
I’m a newbie to pool maintenance, 3.5 months in, and I think I’m missing something because I’ve had two occasions where the FC starts dropping and my SWG with an oversized cell cannot keep up even when I crank it to 100% and extend the run time by 20%. I recently SLAMed because of this.

The first time the FC had only dropped to about 4 ppm. I started cranking up the duty cycle and it kept dropping. After a few days I got a CC reading of 0.5 ppm and tried to correct the problem with a couple of good doses of left over chlorine from my first SLAM. Things seemed fine for a week or so.

About two weeks later I had not tested the pool for a week and FC had dropped to 1.5 ppm with CC at 0.5 ppm. I cranked the SWG all the way up and it could not keep up making me think the SWG was not working correctly. After this SLAM my SWG is keeping up nicely and can drive the FC quite high.

What am I missing?

Thanks for your help.

Currently the pool is fine though the FC is a bit higher than my target.
FC: 9.5 (targeting 6-7)
pH: 7.3 (Dropped TA with MA addition in an attempt to slow the rise in pH. Aerating to get it in the 7.6-7.8 range)
TA: 60 (targeting 60-70. Had been 80)
CH: 500 (Seems to have creeped up from 400 after adding borates)
CYA: 80 (Had somehow dropped to 35-40 so I added 2 lb dry CYA)
Salt: 3000
Borates: ~45 (Added mid January 2021 to try to slow the pH rise. This seems to have helped but it still seems fast so I'm trying the lower TA as well.)
CSI: -0.58 (should fix itself as the pH comes back up)
Temp: 80 F
SWG: Currently set to 20%, 7 hours/day

I've attached a write up of my history to provide more details.

Attachments

• Pool Questions for the TFP Forum.pdf
    240.7 KB · Views: 4

cowboycasey

Gold Supporter
LifeTime Supporter
TFP Guide
Jul 3, 2013
Southern OK