Dabrodas

May 12, 2021
Florida
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
SWG Type
Hayward Aqua Rite (T-15)
Hey guys! So since I had so much success with my TF-100 and TFP method, I’ve been excited to test all my family members pools... which is probably a mistake.

just curious, my in laws pool is all out of whack with results! But they have maintained this pool for 20 years and only ever have to dump liquid chlorine and use yellow treat about once a season. They also use trichlor pucks in and in-line tab feeder.

I probably won’t get them to follow everything I say, as I’m brand new to pools, but I thought the results were interesting (attached). He did acknowledge he is low on FC and went to get 5gallons of liquid chlorine today.

it is a 26k gallon, chlorine tab feeder, with DE filter.

They never seem to have an issue with calcium build up and pool is always crystal clear, with the occasional algae (once a season) they use Yellow Treat for.

So as I work on getting them to follow TFP religiously (like I do), thought I would get y’all’s thoughts and opinions! Just more than one way to skin a cat? I thought the CH was never going to turn blue! Lol. They use a deep well (hard water) for fill when low.
1624233739486.png

With Yellow Treat (if sodium bromide), the CYA does nothing. The chlorine converts the bromide to bromine. Bromine is not protected by CYA. Bromine converts to bromide when impacted by UV or organics. And the cycle repeats.

The no scaling is surprising. Is this a plaster or liner pool?

With Yellow Treat (if sodium bromide), the CYA does nothing. The chlorine converts the bromide to bromine. Bromine is not protected by CYA. Bromine converts to bromide when impacted by UV or organics. And the cycle repeats.

The no scaling is surprising. Is this a plaster or liner pool?
Plaster!

Interesting.