Dual Pool Heaters Pool Build: Plumbing, Pump and Cartridge

DiveController

Dec 4, 2019
Texas
I am a newbie to the forum stuck in the middle of a pool build with some significant concerns regarding future circulation and heating. We have a gunnite shell in the back lot with the stub plumbing (and most of the long plumbing in place). This cannot be altered easily without very significant additional expense.
We have currently paused our pool build to ensure that we can adequately heat the pool eventually.

Our 'Pool': 58,000 gallons (4 feet, shallow end & 11 feet at the deep end)
Intended Use: Extended swim season (as one of our children is on swim team), at least March through November (possibly year round, or whatever is reasonably affordable)
Our current estimated time for one circulation (per our builder) is approximately 12.5 hours. I believe the current set up is probably sufficient to allow enough circulation to avoid any problems with stagnation, algae etc. and correct mixing of chemicals to keep the pool water essentially trouble free.

Primary Concern: Very extended time to heat the pool in colder months (it won't require any/little in midsummer where shallower pools can become too hot in TX and you're wondering if you should have installed a chiller).
The current guestimated time (from builder) is approximately 30 hours to heat the pool from (say) 60° to 80°F (latter is probably the minimum acceptable temperature for children)

Our Pool builder: underestimated the pool volume by 17,000 gallons. Unable to get specific flow calculations, dynamic head, etc., generally somewhat unhelpful, (rapport has been lost due to other issues). Most recommendations seem to be guesstimate rather than being based on calculated probabilities for the specific build.